Daytime Emmys 2020: Full list of winners as Alan Menken becomes an EGOT at the 47th annual ceremony


After announcing their first slate of winners, the 47th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards finally announced their second round of winners on July 26. Unveiled on Sunday night, the ceremony awarded the finest in Children’s, Lifestyle and Animation programming. The tribute to Regin Philbin, who passed away this weekend, carried a segment from his acceptance speech for the Lifetime Achievement Award he received in 2008, at the Annual Daytime Emmy Awards.

Loni Love hosted this week’s live stream for the event that saw winners accepting their awards from the comfort of their homes, as well as other venues they are quarantining at. Izabella Alvarez (Nickelodeon’s ‘The Loud House’ and ‘The Casagrandes’), Tabitha Brown, Josh Dela Cruz (Nickelodeon’s ‘Blue’s Clues & You!’), Quintessa Swindell (Netflix’s ‘Trinkets’) and Andrew Zimmern (‘The Zimmern List’) all presented the awards.

Among the many highlights of the night was Alan Menken becoming the 16th person in history to achieve the EGOT (Emmy, Grammy, Oscar and Tony) status after winning all four prestigious awards. Menken won for the Best Original Song along with Glenn Slater for ‘Rapunzel’s Tangled Adventure also marking his first competitive Emmy win.

Outstanding Preschool Children’s Series: ‘Sesame Street’, HBO

Outstanding Children’s or Family Viewing Program: ‘Ghostwriter’, Apple TV+

Outstanding Young Adult Program: ‘Trinkets’, Netflix

Outstanding Short-Format Children’s Program: ‘Sesame Street in Communities: Meet Salia’,

Outstanding Preschool Children’s Animated Series: ‘Ask the StoryBots’, Netflix

Outstanding Children’s Animated Series: ‘The Dragon Prince’, Netflix

Outstanding Special Class Animated Program: ‘The Last Kids on Earth’, Netflix

Outstanding Educational or Informational Series: ‘Could You Survive the Movies?’, YouTube Originals

Outstanding Lifestyle Series: ‘George to the Rescue’, NBC

Outstanding Travel and Adventure Program: ‘The Zimmern List’, Travel Channel

Outstanding Special Class Series: ‘The Day I Picked My Parents’, A&E

Outstanding Special Class – Short Format Daytime Program: ‘The Brave Great Big Story’

Outstanding Principal Performance in a Daytime Program: Ryan Dillon as Elmo, Lefty the Salesman, Don Music for ‘Sesame Street’s 50th Anniversary Celebration’, HBO

Outstanding Limited Performance in a Daytime Program: Bill Cobbs as Mr. Hendrickson for ‘Dino Dana’,

Outstanding Performer in an Animated Program: Tom Kenny as SpongeBob SquarePants, for ‘SpongeBob SquarePants’, Nickelodeon

Outstanding Performer in a Preschool Animated Program: Matt Danner as Kermit, Rowlf, Mr. Waldorf, Disney Junior Beaker, Chef for ‘Muppet Babies’

Outstanding Host for a Daytime Program: Mike Rowe, Host, Facebook Watch for Returning the Favor

Outstanding Writing for a Special Class Series: ‘The Henry Ford’s Innovation Nation’, CBS. Head Writer: Jim Lichtenstein, Writers: Stephanie Himango, John Murphy, Norma Rubio, Alie Ward

Outstanding Directing for a Children’s or Young Adult Program: ‘Sesame Street’, HBO. Directors: Ken Diego, Rick Fernandes, Shannon Flynn, Benjamin Lehmann, Jack Jameson, Linda Mendoza, Liliana Olszewski, Scott Preston, Matt Vogel

Outstanding Original Song in a Children’s, Young Adult or Animated Program: ‘Waiting in the Wings’,  Disney Channel, for ‘Rapunzel’s Tangled Adventure’; Composer: Alan Menken; Lyricist: Glenn Slater

Outstanding Interactive Media for a Daytime Program: ‘Jeopardy!’, Syndicated

Outstanding Culinary Host: Giada De Laurentiis, for ‘Giada Entertains’, Network 

Outstanding Informative Talk Show Host: Tamron Hall for ‘Tamron Hall’, Syndicated

Outstanding Writing for a Preschool Animated Program: ‘Elena of Avalor’, Disney Junior; Writer/Producer: Craig Gerber Story Editor Silvia Olivas; Writers: Kate Kondell, Tom Rogers, Rachel Ruderman, Cam Baity

Outstanding Writing for an Animated Program: ‘Rapunzel’s Tangled Adventure’, Disney Channel; Head Writer/Story Editor: Jase Ricci; Writer: Ricky Roxburgh

Outstanding Writing for a Children’s or Young Adult Program: ‘Trinkets’, Netflix. Writers: Amy Andelson, Stephanie Coggins, Linda Gase, Emily Meyer, Jess Meyer, Kirsten “Kiwi” Smith, Matt Shire

Outstanding Directing for a Preschool Animated Program: ‘Tumble Leaf’, Amazon Prime Video. Director: Drew Hodges; Animation Directors: Michael Granberry, Dan MacKenzie

Outstanding Directing for an Animated Program: ‘Disney Mickey Mouse’, Disney Channel. Director: Eddie Trigueros

Outstanding Directing for a Single-Camera Daytime Program: ‘Giada in Italy Capri’, Network. Director: Anne

Outstanding Directing for a Multiple Camera Daytime Program: ‘Milk Street’, PBS. Director: Jan Maliszewski

Outstanding Directing Special Class: ‘Hate Among Us’, Popstar TV. Director: David McKenzie

Outstanding Music Direction and Composition: ‘The Tom & Jerry Show’, Boomerang. Composers: Vivek Maddala, Steve Morrell

Outstanding Casting for an Animated Series or Special: ‘Green Eggs and Ham’, Netflix. Casting Director: Mary Hidalgo

Outstanding Main Title and Graphic Design for a Live Action Program: ‘Sesame Street’s 50th Anniversary Celebration’, HBO

Outstanding Main Title for an Animated Program: ‘The Casagrandes’, Nickelodeon. And, Rapunzel’s Tangled Adventure, Disney Channel

Outstanding Cinematography: ‘Tumble Leaf’, Amazon Prime Video

Outstanding Single-Camera Editing: ‘Peanuts in Space: Secrets of Apollo 10’, Apple TV+

Outstanding Multiple Camera Editing: ‘Sesame Street’s 50th Anniversary Celebration’, HBO

Outstanding Editing for an Animated Program: ‘Disney Mickey Mouse’, Disney Channel

Outstanding Sound Mixing: ‘Articulate with Jim Cotter’, PBS

Outstanding Sound Mixing for an Animated Program: ‘Batman: Hush’, Amazon Prime Video

Outstanding Sound Mixing for a Preschool Animated Program: ‘Elena of Avalor’, Disney Junior

Outstanding Sound Editing for a Live Action Program: ‘Odd Squad’, PBS

Outstanding Sound Editing for an Animated Program: ‘Batman: Hush’, Amazon Prime Video

Outstanding Sound Editing for a Preschool Animated Program: ‘Elena of Avalor’, Disney Junior

Outstanding Special Effects Costume, Makeup and Hairstyling: ‘Dino Dana’, Amazon Prime Video; And ‘Sesame Street’, HBO

Elsewhere, in the previous list of winners for the regular Daytime Emmys CBS’ ‘The Young and the Restless’ were the top winners bagging the prizes of best drama series, winning a total of eight awards handed out. CBS’ ‘The Bold and the Beautiful’ and ABC’s ‘General Hospital’ both won four awards each; followed by ‘Jeopardy!’, ‘The Kelly Clarkson Show’ and ‘Sesame Street’s 50th Anniversary Celebration’ with three awards each. ‘Days of Our Lives’, ‘The Price Is Right’ and ‘The Real’ took home two each.If you have an entertainment scoop or a story for us, please reach out to us on (323) 421-7515

About Nirbhaya 16884 Articles
Nirbhaya has been interested in doing something on his own from the days when he was in college. But, things didn’t favour him in the beginning, and he had to work for others. Later, he finally started as a news portal, and then never looked back. The website is gaining popularity every day. He puts all of his skills into his work and making his dream come true. He covers Tech and General news on this website.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.